Another Rouvy ride, feeling the changes “oldering” (that also might mean, “a bit wiser”)

my rabbits (MarkH65 x 7; Tabby x 4; myself Pedalergal x 3) and 5 Rouvy Ghost Riders at the start

On a flat “London” route with Rouvy today…. also with 7 of my MarkH65 buddies, 4 Tabbys, 3 of my own Pedalergal previous efforts and also starting out with my 5 Rouvy Ghost Rider teammates (Tom, Will, Emma, Lauren and Peter)….

most of the crew have taken off ahead of me!



Really feeling no longer being athletic on the bike these days. And it’s reflected in my higher relative heart rate with lower relative power and speed, and much longer riding times for the same routes I’ve done in the past.

at the Split

Side entertainment was our friend Rob in a DVD playing bass in one of his several rock group cover bands, this one an Allman Bros cover group playing what looked to be a county fair or similar event from 1998… so a very bookin’, lively soundtrack for my ride!!

Ben had put on the DVD and agreed to keep me company while I spun around with Rouvy (having loaned his Wahoo trainer to our friend MarkH65 a few months ago and having given away our two classic trainers, I have only my own Wahoo trainer and me own company these days down in the “cave”).

Ironically, concert time and lying on the futon sofa downstairs promptly put Ben into a state of peaceful afternoon nap slumber…. so I was effectively solo, anyway. Even so, it was nice to have the allure of “company” of my sweatie!

stats…. so slow!

Rouvy tells me my time today was 0:35:27 with an avg speed of 19.0km/h and avg power of 0.91 W/kg…. my PB on the route was 0:20:32 with an avg power of 2.084 W/kg; In my training diary, I see rides on 09/22/2022 (about 23 minutes), 10/07/2022 (my PB standing shown below), 03/23/2023 (24 minutes) and today’s slow ride (35 minutes).

Final Thoughts! A GOOD Comparison! On Goal…

today's results, London
today’s results, London

Given the fact that today’s goal was to keep my heart-rate low, I’m not really all that bothered that my time on today’s ride was so much longer, and speed so much slower, and power so much less than my PB from 10/07/2022 (see below) which was so blazing fast in comparison!! Today’s heart rate 118 avg (max 133 bpm for about 1/2 second). All things considered, MISSION ACCOMPLISHED!!

PB result, 10/07/2022
on 10/07/2022, my PB was way faster…more power, etc, but also really high heart rate!!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment